Surprise yourself

Here’s something I enjoy doing – go to the library and chose a book at random. Don’t even read the blurb. Just choose it based on the title or the cover.

Go outside of your normal reading. If you are a fantasy fan, pick up a romance. If you like crime, go for a sci-fi. If you red exclusively fiction, pick up a non-fiction. If you read true crime, pick up a history.

I do this quite a bit, and it’s a great way to discover new books and new writers and new ideas. Of course sometimes I pick up something I don’t like – but if that happens it’s a library book and I can take it back. Sometimes I discover an entirely new writer or subject.

It’s good to surprise yourself sometimes.

House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Women Of Baker Street

Sent from my iPad

Leave a comment