A Palate Cleanser

I have a palate cleanser manuscript. Normally my books are very firmly set in late Victorian era, with a lot of focus on the injustices of the time. However, once in a while, I need a quick break, to reset my mind.

I don’t, however, want to stop writing. So I have another manuscript – never designed to be published – that’s sharp and cynical and very modern. It keeps the creativity flowing, but gives me a quick break from Victorians.

When I asked on Twitter about whether other writers do this, a lot of them replied that they write short stories to do the same thing – still writing, often still in their world, but a different angle or style or story.

Either way, come up with a palate cleanser – a way to have a break without stopping writing. It might help if you get stuck.

House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Women Of Baker Street

Sent from my iPad

Leave a comment