You Can Recycle

I wrote a book during lockdown. It was rubbish and I sent it out during the second draft stage which was a mistake because it really needed a good rewrite before anyone else saw it. It got locked away never to be seen again.

Except – it did have some really good moments. Some good scenarios. A good method of murder. I liked some of the characters.

So the books I’m working now have some of those aspects. I’ve gone through the detritus of that failed book and found something lovely, something useful to put in a better book.

The point is – even if you write something you think is rubbish and everyone tells you is rubbish there will be something good about it. A particular character, an interesting setting. Don’t throw away the entire thing. Recycle the good bits for another, better book.

House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Women Of Baker Street

Sent from my iPad

Leave a comment