Dreaded Synopsis

There are many many things I enjoy about writing. Writing a synopsis is not one of them.

I wish I had tips to give you. I don’t. I know they’re not supposed to be longer than two pages. Mine invariably run to three and often to four.

My plots are complex. I grant you that, and trying to get my complex plot into two pages is very difficult. Maybe I explain too much? But if I cut it down to the bare bones I get asked to explain things. And I always leave out something vital.

One line descriptions of my book, I can do. Anything longer and I ramble.

Imagine my utter joy when I read on Twitter that proper grown up authors who have been doing this forever also hate writing a synopsis. It is the bane of our lives.

So I know this wasn’t useful but I thought you might like to know – we all hate it!

I hope that makes both you and me feel better about hating writing the synopsis.

The House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Women Of Baker Street

Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

