It Changes on the Page

Your characters change when you write them down.

I had a character in my head – elderly, worn, bent over with her years, tired, dressed in rags. All the time the story was in my head, this is how she stayed.

Then my pen hit the page, and she changed. She stubbornly refused to be what she had been in my mind. She became tall, elegant, strong. She became a repository of secrets, a speaker of warnings. She became utterly intriguing, and a total mystery to me.

It’s all very well having the story in your head, but the physical act of writing can change everything.

The House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Women Of Baker Street

Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

