Finding the Voice

I’ve been writing a new collection of characters and the most challenging thing is finding the voice of the main character, the one telling the story.

I’m used to Mrs Hudson’s rather calm, watchful, acerbic voice. My new character isn’t like that. It’s taken time to find her voice, to work out how she thinks and feels and reacts.

But once I’m in her head, once I write in her voice, it all flows beautifully, and I discover things I never knew about her – her anger, her desire to succeed, her excitement, her propensity for swearing…I like her a lot.

This is one of the joys of first person writing, getting to get inside someone else’s head, and discover how they really think.

The ” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”>House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Women Of Baker Street

Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

