Finding Silence

If you own a cafe, or a bar, or a bookshop, can I ask you one favour?

Turn the music off.

I’m out of the house today and looking for a place to work for an hour. But every single place I go to has music pumping out. It’s distracting, it’s annoying and it’s not necessary.

It’s difficult to read when the music plays, it’s difficult to talk and it’s impossible to write. I do use music for inspiration, but not last years pop music played into my ear at
top volume.

This sounds like a rant. It is. It’s impossible to find a moment a peace, and if you are a writer, or a reader, or want to talk to your companion, or just someone who values silence it’s impossible to find a place to be.

So I beg you, turn it off, let us have our own thoughts for a while. Please.

From a frustrated writer.

The ” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”>House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Women Of Baker Street

Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

