Catching The Eye

My local bookshops do wonderful displays. It’s not just the way they pile the books up. One of their employees is an artist (not hired as such, she just happens to be one) and she creates beautiful posters to show off books.

A good display is necessary. For my first book I got given a table to myself (a small one) with a quote prominently displayed and I saw it draw people towards it. Books may be words, but it’s the visuals that catch someone’s eye. When you go into a bookshop, what draws you? Is the pile of books, or the displays and the quotes and the cover?

Of course, as authors, we can do next to nothing to influence how our books are displayed (though I have been known to go into a bookshop and just turn my book around so you can see it on the shelf). But it’s worth remembering that sometimes a book catches attention because of the artwork displaying it.

The ” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”>House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Women Of Baker Street

Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

