The Magic Path

So I’ve got to the point in my book where I sort of know what’s going to happen, but I’m not quite sure how to get there. I am also wandering round the streets muttering about who is going to die next, and how I’ll kill them. In fiction, of course.

I’m one of those writers who makes the entire thing up as they go. I rarely plan, and find if I do plan, my characters end up veering wildly off course and doing what they want to do anyway.

It feels like a roller coaster, writing that first draft. I know there’s an ending, and I know maybe one or two stops along the way, but otherwise I just hurtle towards it at top speed, trying to remember to all the rules and not to scream in terror and jump off. And then I get to the end, take a deep breath, look back and can barely believe I’ve done it.

I do know some writers who plan everything, right down to every paragraph. It works for them, they write good books, but me, I need to discover for story as I go. I’ve tried the planning, and it just doesn’t work for me.

Every writer has a different path to that magical moment when the first draft is done. What’s important to remember is, do what works for you. Try different methods and different styles and ideas, but no one way is perfect. Only you know what works for you.

The ” target=”_blank” rel=”noopener”>House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Women Of Baker Street

Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

