Author’s Talks

I went to a fantastic author’s talk this week, jointly given by Kathryn Harkup, author of A is for Arsenic (and I got a chance to tell her how useful I found her book – strictly as research!) and Annie Gray, author of the Greedy Queen. Both talks were fascinating and enlightening and funny and really made me want to read the books.

Now I do author talks myself, I tend to borrow tips from the ones I go to – I really have to get together a PowerPoint presentation.

What’s really good about these talks is the chance to ask questions about things that aren’t in the book. Why did they write this? What caught their attention? Have they heard about….

I know a lot of people don’t go to author talks as they don’t like to see the person behind the book, but you should go. It’s incredibly interesting and very useful for fellow writers. And the literary festival is on the rise, there’s more every year, so the chance of you getting to see your favourite author in the flesh is getting higher.

The House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Women Of Baker Street

Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

