Yet Another Reason Not to Use Slang by Christine Duncan

When I started writing, one of those writing rules I heard over and over again was not to use slang. It would date your work was a reason I heard often. It is no secret to anyone who has read this blog this was a rule that I took to heart. There is soooo much slang that just annoys the stuffing out of me.

So when I found someone else writing about ten slang words not to use, I settled down to read with some satisfaction. Until I realized that, there were words on that list I had never heard of and I had to look up. No, no, I’ve heard of fleek. It wasn’t that one. But bae? It looks like it might be Gaelic. Is it Gaelic?

So reason one million and one not to use slang. You don’t want to alienate your reader. Yeah, I don’t mind not being part of your group. But I do mind not even knowing what the group is.

One response to “Yet Another Reason Not to Use Slang by Christine Duncan

  1. Personally, I’m very careful in what I use for slang in my stories. Since I don’t know 95% of the current slang vernacular, this makes almost a no-brainer. Still, when I do, I try to make it the type that doesn’t change year in and year out.

Leave a Reply

