Cliche

It’s very late at night. I’ve been sitting here, pen in hand, for ages. I have a character I need to be dark and moody, but I am worried I’m just creating a cliche. How can I lift him out?

Damned if I know, I’ve been struggling with this all evening.

Maybe I’ll give him a quirky hobby. Train spotting? Obscure dialects of the Alps? But if I do that I’ll have to do a massive amount of research into that hobby, and I don’t want to do that.

Maybe I’ll give him a good reason to be mean and moody. To be honest, he has one. He has several. But, again, that’s been done. Maybe he’s just a bit of a sod. Maybe nothing motivates him to be like that.

He could say something that isn’t moody. But that doesn’t read right.

All I can do is start to write him. Then, once I’ve written a few pages of him, I’ll stand up and pace around my room and act his scene out. It’s by far the best way to get into his head. I’ll figure out how he sits, and walks, what makes his backache, what makes him laugh. I’ll find a way to make him alive.

Mean and moody may be a cliche, but cliches can be real too.

The House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Women Of Baker Street

Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

