Instagram Anyone? by Christine Duncan

I have come to the conclusion that I don’t use my social media as well as I should for writing. I started out with the best of intentions. But it has devolved to my using Facebook to keep in touch with family, other writers and to do political rants.

Twitter is semi-writing oriented in that I do promote this blog there. But I usually check it to see what the news is.

And Instagram is fairly new to me, and to be honest I don’t have a clue how to use it. Someone told me that they post photos of what they do during the day–a sort of photo journal of their writing. I thought that sounded great so I signed up. Besides, I suspected I was missing some great pictures from my family.

Then reality set in. A photo journal of my writing would consist of only two pictures. One picture would show me madly typing. The second picture would show me, staring off into space somewhere, trying to decide what I need to type next. I could post that one over and over and over.

So all of you great promo folks out there, what do you use Instagram for? I could use a clue.

Leave a Reply

