The Weather

A few days off, and did I write? No I did not. I did read a lot, which counts as research.

The problem is the weather. I find it very difficult to write when I’m cold. It’s as if my brain freezes up along with my fingers. Goodness knows how the Brontes coped in that freezing parsonage. (I’ve been there at the height of summer and it was bitterly cold!)

I can’t write until I get home, get the heating on, and thaw out – but that takes ages.

Are you the same? Some people are inspired by the cold, I know that. Some aren’t affected by the weather at all. But when it’s too cold to hold a pen, I can’t write. When it’s gray and damp and I haven’t seen the sun for a month, I slip into a slump and can do nothing but sit on the sofa and stare at the TV.

Roll on the Spring, and the return of warmth, comfort and my spirit.

The House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Women Of Baker Street

Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

