Other Writing

Now that ‘being a writer’ is becoming more and more my primary job, I find that more and more of my writing is not for the books.

I’m writing essays for websites. I’m writing talks to give in libraries. I can’t actually write down what I’m going to say as part of panel talks in festivals, but I do have to research the subject, and think of something to say about it.

It’s a good thing/bad thing situation. On the one hand, I have a limited amount of time for writing (I have had to temporarily return to the day job until the next advance) and I’d like to save that time for the books.

On the other hand, it is interesting. What do I think about Victorian women or fictional detectives? And thinking about those subjects helps me think about my work, what I want to say, what I want my work to mean.

And to be honest, it’s always good to write, about anything.

The House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Women Of Baker Street

Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

