Don’t Skip It

Have you ever heard that when you write it a book, you should put it away for a while, then get it out and look at it before you send it off to anyone? Give it a few weeks away from you before you do the final edit.

Don’t, whatever you do, skip that step.

I was in a hurry. I wanted to get the manuscript sent off. I thought I knew what I was doing. I just sent it straight off. I didn’t leave it sitting in a draw for a while before doing the final edit.

It’s not that it’s a bad book. But it’s come back with a lot of notes, mostly along the lines of how busy and complex the book is. And my editor is right. Now I’ve not looked at it for a while, I can see where it needs to be tidied up. But, if I had not skipped the ‘let it rest’ stage, I wouldn’t have needed all those notes.

It may seem time consuming. It may seem pointless. You may see the need. But do not just send the manuscript off straight away. Leave it alone for a while. Have a break. Believe me, you will both need it.

The House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

The Women Of Baker Street

Leave a Reply

