The Wheel Of Fortune

It seems to me that everything happens in cycles.

No, not bicycles, or motorcycles. Pay attention!

When something is happening to you, it seems as if this will be the way it is forever. But I’ve been learning about cycles (as a woman, a monthly cycle is something I really have to pay attention to).

So, when I don’t feel like writing, I don’t despair and think I’ll never write again. Give it a few days and I’ll be back to normal. And there’s a few days every few weeks when I write like a demon. When I feel down and miserable and am convinced I am the worst writer in the world, I’ve learnt to ignore that feeling. Just a week and that’ll pass. Writers block is only temporary.

Some cycles come in days, some in hours, some in weeks, some in years. But there are cycles. This too shall pass.

Unfortunately this also applies to the good times, so I’ve learnt to make the most of the high points, to get me through the low points. Just hang on in there, or, alternatively, make the most of it. The Wheel of Fortune turns, and it’ll all change sooner or later.

The House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

Leave a Reply

