Still Writing On

Just a quick word is week, as I’ve been incredibly busy.

I’ve moved to a different flat this week. It’s been depressing, difficult, awkward and miserable and I’m not that happy in my new place yet. I thought this would affect my ability to write.

It didn’t. I’ve been writing like a demon. (A good demon. The writing kind. The kind that writes a lot and very quickly.). Right in the middle of the trauma I’ve had some fantastic ideas (perhaps the trauma caused the fantastic ideas?)

I’ve always worried that my writing will disappear under difficult circumstances. But it doesn’t. It’s not that fragile. It stays even in difficult circumstances.

Lots of things have stopped me writing – but they’ve always been physical problems, exhaustion, lack of time, lack of space. But actual emotional difficulties don’t seem to stop me, they spur me on.

Now please excuse me. I have to arrange for my shower to be fixed.

The House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

Leave a Reply

