How Long Do You Leave Submissions Out There? by Christine Duncan

I have a manuscript out to a publisher and I am thinking about inquiring about it. The thing is, I don’t want to jinx it. So how long do you leave something with someone before you ask?
I used to not worry about such things. I would just ask when I felt ready to ask. But a previous publisher cured me of that by getting very upset with my question. I’m sure there is a rule of thumb for this. How long do wait before you inquire about your manuscript?

One response to “How Long Do You Leave Submissions Out There? by Christine Duncan

  1. I say about three months, then depending on what their answer is, you either move forward and continue querying, or let it sit there for a little while longer.

Leave a Reply

