The Cliché is True!

Sorry, sorry, this is late. That’s because I completely forgot yesterday was Friday.

When you work at home, for yourself, days tend to merge into one another. You work and work, and take a day off when you’re tired, and completely lose track of what is going on in the outside world. This is especially true if you’re working as an artist of some kind, and don’t have to deal with suppliers and orders and so on.

And, of course, I was researching. I’m waiting for books to come back with notes on, so I didn’t want to start the next Mrs Hudson and Mary Watson book, so I started researching the series I want to write later on. I’ve been researching the Blitz. I got so caught up in my research I didn’t notice the week going on around me. It’s such a fascinating, visceral, intense time, and the writing about it so detailed, and the stories so compelling that I could not tear myself away.

So there you go. I’ve metamorphosed into an absent-minded writer. I’d always been slightly suspicious of that cliche, but as it turns out, when left alone to write, it becomes entirely true.

The House at Baker Street by Michelle Birkby

Leave a Reply

