No Rest for the Writer

It’s been an odd week. I’ve finished the book I was working on, but it needs a final polish. I’ve put it aside for a couple of weeks so I can get some distance from it before I do that, but what do I do in those weeks?

Well, at first, it was just loads of reading and watching DVDs. But if I don’t write I get a miserable and cranky, so I have to write. There’s no point starting the next series – I’m not ready, and anyway I need to escape from that world for a while.

So I’m working on a completely different series. Loads of research needed, and I’ve already started writing a few key scenes. They were in my head and would not just shut up.

What about you? Can you rest between books? Can you put the pen down for a month, or longer? Can you stop writing for a while? I suspect not. I suspect you’re as obsessed as I am. I suspect when you stop the daydreams of stories take over your life until you have no choice but to write.

There’s no rest for a writer. Every minute, every second, a story – or rather, a mass of stories – is spinning in their heads. Try and stop them writing them down and they become a snappy, angry monster. Writers just keep writing, or if they can’t write, dreaming. They will always imagine new worlds, new people, new situations and it seems we just can’t stop ourselves.

Leave a Reply

