Word for the Year by Christine Duncan

I’ve never been much for resolutions, but it does seem appropriate that as a writer I have a word that I use to help me keep my focus for the year. I spend a lot of time trying to figure it out each year.

This year is no exception. I’m considering (as usual) several different words.

I ended 2015 feeling stressed for one reason and another, so I want my word this year to help with that. Something like Breathe.

That one works because yoga and other stress relieving exercises focus on deep rhythmic breathing to help destress you. It would be a reminder to focus on that. All of those beat your anxiety articles focus on that.

Maybe what I really mean is release, which could mean letting go or could mean the actual relief of pressure you feel when things are turning around for the good.

The third word I’m leaning toward is stressless–which is something to aim for. It also has a double entendre in that it could be stress less.

It has occurred to me, more than once, that all of life is a mind game. If you can talk yourself into something, you can do it.
Whatever “it” is. But I don’t seem to talk myself out of stress. It seems to be part of life. So stress less is not my favorite.

The last word for the year I’m considering is run. It too has double the possibilities. Running is great stress relief. And knowing when to run from something that is stressing you doesn’t seem like a bad idea either.

Leave a Reply

