New Year, New Life

Happy New Year!

Today is the first day of my life as a full time writer. I quit my day job yesterday. I am exhilarated and happy and free, and quite frankly, terrified.

I’ve got six months worth of savings. That’s six months to prove whether or not I can make it as a writer. Everyone seems to think I can, but I’m not convinced. Nevertheless, I’m going to give it a try.

Once, a long time ago, I got offered an acting job and a ‘proper’ job at the same time. I took the proper job because I thought I needed the money. I absolutely intended to go back to acting. I never did. I have regretted it ever since. So, I intend to grasp this chance to write with both hands, and get everything I can out of it.

I’m worried I’ll just laze my days away, so I have a plan. I shall get up and write in the mornings, like I do now (though I won’t have to stop to go to day job). Then go for a walk to think about what I just wrote, and what I will write next. Then back, and write a little, then in the afternoons, read. I was going to just read what I needed for research, but I’ve realised that anything I read, no matter how distant it seems from my book, will inspire me to write, so I shall read everything, and write a little if I get inspired.

That all sounds like a proper job, right?

I suspect I’ll never lose that slight sense of terror that it’s all going to go wrong. But I don’t think I’ll ever lose that joy either. When someone asks me what my job is, from today I can legitimately say ‘writer’, and that is wonderful.

One response to “New Year, New Life

  1. I wish you good luck and good writing!

Leave a Reply

