Trust Your Head

I was talking to a friend recently, and I said I hadn’t been working on my current book for a week or two, I had been working on a future book. It was not what I had planned, but it seemed to be what my head insisted on, and I had learnt it trust my head, it knows what it’s doing.

She thought I was strange. (To be fair, she often thinks this)

When I first started writing, I tried to plan what I wrote when. If my subconscious wanted to write something different, I tried to force it back it into line. It wasn’t a happy experience.

So I learnt to let my subconscious take the lead. To go with the flow, as it were. To write what it wanted to write, and when. It pays off. For example, although I’ve spent a week working on a future book, what I’ve done on that reflects on the current book. And the break has given me a fresh perspective, so when I went back to the current book, I had new ideas, and a clearer path to follow.

I rely on my head now. Yes, it’s weird. It does sound odd. But my head seems reliable. If it wants to spend a ŵeek writing something else, it has a good reason for it, and I should go with it.

However, if it suggests I leave it all and run to Barcelona for a week, I may get suspicious.

Leave a Reply

