More Time to Write? by Christine Duncan

What if you didn’t have to worry about a mortgage?  Would you spend more time writing?

Wouldn’t you love to find out?

A Detroit non-profit named Write a House is giving houses to writers.  The idea is to renovate vacant houses and revitalize neighborhoods in a city that needs both of those things AND to pump up its literary community.  It’s a win-win for the writers, and the city.

I think the whole idea is a writer’s dream.  If the roof over your head was provided for, couldn’t you not only write, but contribute to the writer’s community in your area? I’ve always wanted  to talk at schools about writing, telling kids not only about the fun of creating new worlds in your head, but also about the realities of writing–no money, no money, no money. Title? “Keep  Your Day Jobs, Sweeties.”

I’d love to spend time polishing my stuff before sending it out–not playing this game of waiting that I do now.  “Okay, now, I have to work a little extra this week, and the holiday is coming, so all I can do today is polish chapter three but I might be able to do a better edit, week after next.”  Am I the only one who does this?

Write a House is up front about the fact that they can not give you a day job to provide the bread and butter on your table.  So you had better have a great job skill and some savings to be able to survive.  But they do say the houses, though small,  are near schools and not far from downtown.  And they will help introduce you to the city and to a network of other professionals.

I have to say, I think it sounds like a dream.

2 responses to “More Time to Write? by Christine Duncan

  1. I do like that idea, a lot. And I think there could very well be a few real, true masterpieces which would never have seen the light of day if not for that program allowing those authors the freedom to do the work.

  2. Melissa Morris Inoa

    What an interesting idea! I definitely want to know more about it. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

