Audio Anyone? by Christine Duncan

Michelle wrote about how audio books helped her through her recent illness, although she hadn’t loved them before. I really love audio books. They help me through long runs, when I just have no more mantras left to keep me going and the voice in my head is telling me to stop.
They are wonderful to get me through that long list of tiresome chores when all I want to do is read. I can tell you exactly where I was in Margaret Maron’s Killer Market as I painted the living room ceiling. And that ceiling needs painting again. It’s wonderful for those times when I have rushed to some appointment only to be told to wait. It’s also a way I have tried out many new to me writers that I wasn’t sure about.
I just haven’t figured out how to get MY books in audio. I know of some people who hired studios and recorded the books themselves. I can read, obviously, but I’m not say, Barbara Rosenblatt who does all those wonderful voices. Or maybe I’m too self conscious to try that. I need to figure out how to do this.

That’s the cool thing about writing. There’s always something to try for.

Leave a Reply

