I’m Back Again

And finally, I’m back. Thanks for all your good wishes. I have to admit, it’s been a difficult time. The operation was more complicated than expected, I was too ill when I came home to do anything, then I had to be re admitted to hospital – it all got a bit traumatic.

I certainly haven’t been able to write. And what with one thing and another, I was too exhausted to even think. I couldn’t read, I was too worn out to concentrate on the page. I couldn’t even watch TV – well, not the complex dramas and intensive documentaries I normally like, I could just about cope with Pets Do The Funniest Things.

What saved me was audio books. I loaded up my iPod with radio comedies, and all the Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy and Sherlock Holmes and lots of classic books on audio, and they were wonderful. Plug myself in, sit back, and lose myself, no effort required. They took me away from the hospital and the noise and people around me, and took me into the wonderful world of books and needed no effort of my part. They calmed me down and soothed me and saved me and sent me off to sleep. Without them I would have lain in bed, staring at the ceiling, worrying myself sick.

I’ve never really liked audio books before. I don’t like to be read to. But this time, in hospital, tired and scared and sick, they were wonderful.

2 responses to “I’m Back Again

  1. So sorry you’ve been through a rough patch, and happy you are back. I missed your posts.

  2. Thank God you’re back You were missed.

Leave a Reply

