What Can’t You Write About? By Christine Duncan

I was on a crowd source work site, when I came across a work request for someone to edit a short story. Luckily the site was one where I could preview the work before accepting it, because it was not a job I could do.
That particular short story had a gruesomely graphic description of the death of a small child. And I simply could not do it.

I do not attach any particular morality to this. I can not write science fiction either, but I like it a lot. I think it’s always wise to know your limits.

There used to be rules, written or unwritten about what would not sell. The death of a child, it was widely held, was not something you wanted to write about if you wanted to sell. Animal abuse or death was also included in those rules. But now, those rules are long gone in some kind of search for reality.

But I am one of those people who use fiction to escape from reality.

One other reality it was hard to accept this week? The death of Leonard Nimoy. I don’t have anything to add to what millions have already written, but when I went to a meeting on local government this weekend and saw someone in a star trek shirt, I wanted to cry. People who I never thought were geeks felt that way this week. Some stories and some people cross genres. I love that.

Leave a Reply

