Writing Sites Anyone? by Christine Duncan

I’m looking at ways to make some money with my writing. I love writing mystery but this time, I’m talking non-fiction writing. Frankly, I’m not sure what the traditional way used to be; for me now, freelancing would be signing up for sites like oDesk, clickworker, and elance.
I’ve done a little work with Amazon Turk. I see writing HITS(Human Intelligence Tasks) there all the time. But I can’t seem to get the qualifications to do any writing or editing. You can, for those of you who aren’t part of the Turkernation and might not know, request qualifications. Sometimes there is a test, sometimes not. But there’s nothing saying anyone will get back to you anytime soon with actual replies to your requests. And until you pass qualifications, jobs seem to be limited and low paying.
Clickworker has a tab for assessments and initially it seemed easy enough. You start with an English placement test, and get a result. Then you can qualify as an author by writing a short piece. I did okay. Then there was a proofreader test. Then…nothing. No jobs, no more assessments.
I’ve been reading reviews on oDesk, and Elance. I’d guess they would be the next step. The reviews are so-so but I’ve got the time right now to check this out for myself, so I’m going to give it a try. I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

