Skype Critique

I said that I would report on how Skype critique is working for me. I’m pretty happy with it. I spent a lot of time moping around because my critique partner had moved and I no longer had any time to find a new critique group let alone attend one. This is a pretty good answer to the pity party.
Neither one of us has much time so it is just the two of us. We meet on a week night but that works too, because there is no travel time to somewhere else, we just call each other on Skype.
I do still have a few things to work out on it. I’m working on my writing on my lunch hour now and she sends me her manuscript in advance so that is also how I critique her. I have a tablet but I’ve been doing this stuff on my phone (android) which is a little limiting. I could get a keyboard for my tablet which is a Windows 8 version, but I don’t want people to know I’m writing. I can’t tell you why, it just is not something I want to talk about with my co-workers. I know of people who write on their commute, but I drive so that’s out.
On the other hand, everyone and their brother is on their phone, on Facebook, texting or whatever, so that attracts no attention. The problem is mainly that it is a clunky way to write. Still, it beats not writing.
It makes me feel good to make use of time that was not productive before like the lunch hour to do something I’ve been wanting to do. And I love the feedback of critique, so I’m more apt to write. Win-win!

Leave a Reply

