Listening to Read

I never used to be a fan of audio books. I thought the idea was brilliant, for visually impaired readers, but I didn’t like the idea of someone reading to me. I like to read fast, and being read to was just too slow.

However, about four or five years ago, on Boxing Day, Radio 4 played the audio book of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, read by Stephen Fry, and it was amazing. It wasn’t someone just reading, it was a performance. Every character unique, every emotion expressed. It wasn’t someone reading to me, it was someone reading with me.

Since then I’ve become a big fan of audio books. I like to listen to them when I’m walking, or curled up on the sofa on a rainy Sunday afternoon, or in bed when I’m unwell. They’re a whole new way for me to escape into another world.

I love reading, and now, it turns out, I love being read to, as well.

Leave a Reply

