Merry Christmas, Everyone! by Christine Duncan

I had planned to write a post on writing goals for the new year.  I swear every writer on Facebook, every blog, I read has a post about goals for the new year.  I remember when I used to do that.  But I’m not making any plans for writing for the coming year.

   It’s not that I don’t want to write.  I do. I have a book I am mid way through and one that needs editing although it is complete.  I want to finish them.  But I’m not going to tell you that I will work on them all through January and be done by February 1st.  I’ve done that too many times before.

   This year, I am opting to stress myself less.  I have things I want to get done, but I will do them when I can.  I have had too many years where no matter what I was doing, I felt guilty because there was always something else I should do.  I am grimacing as I write this, because I know it’s easier said than done.  Guilt comes more easily to me than almost any other emotion.  But I’m going to try it anyway.  So no goal setting: live for the moment.

And with that in mind, I am now going to sit back and spend the evening with my husband.  I will not wrap presents, or bake cookies, or write.  I will enjoy the tree lights and the quiet evening.

   Wishing all of you the same.

   

Leave a Reply

