Why Do YOU Write? By Christine Duncan

Safehouse2_cvr

People read for a variety of reasons and I know that, as a writer, I’m always trying to figure them out.   If I can do that, I can write the book, right?
Here are some of the things I think I’ve figured out.

We read for escape.  We read to validate our reality or our emotions.  We read to motivate ourselves, educate ourselves, travel vicariously or experience things we can not do ourselves.

Reading is fun. It is downtime. It is  a treat.

But why do we write? What is it that compels us to sit down at our keyboards and pound out words?

I have read about the mystery writer who wrote her first book to kill off her ex. And I’ve read about the Romance writer who had gone through more marriages than Mickey Rooney. And there are those of us who are on a mission and need to inform the world about…whatever it is.

So as a writer, you might throw in stuff that you know but that you  figure other folks don’t. Or you might want to tell the story of the love you’ve been dreaming of all your life, figuring that if you can write about it, maybe you can achieve it. Heck, I don’t know. I don’t write Romance.

   And we’ve sort of, kind of, discussed the writing is therapy thought.  Not that writing helps me figure out what I’m feeling all that much.  I still struggle with that one.

    So why do I write? I don’t think of it as a conscious decision–not even for this blog. And yet, like praying and running, I find my day is better for doing it. 

   Lately, my husband and I have been discussing all of the things we used to have time to do but no longer can.  They include a variety of things like rock hunting and eating breakfast out on a Saturday morning.  

    Although my writing is sporadic at times, it hasn’t bitten the dust yet.  And I know a lot of people who used to write, who attended critique with me, went to conferences with me, told me of all their writing hopes and dreams and who no longer write. 

     I’ve somehow hung in there.    And yet, I can’t tell you why.

    I have this feeling if I could articulate that, I could write more, silly as that may sound.

How about you? Why do YOU write?  Do you know?

2 responses to “Why Do YOU Write? By Christine Duncan

  1. thecynicalking

    I write because otherwise I would die! Without writing, I wouldn’t have any way to express myself. I enjoy the feel of the keyboard or glancing down at the word count button as it shoots into the thousands. Mainly, I write for me.

    Check out my review of Michael Grant’s ‘Fear’!- http://thecynicalking.wordpress.com/2012/12/02/book-review-fear-michael-grant/

  2. I write because it’s the one extracurricular activity that I really enjoy doing. Plus, it’s a great way to both annoy people and make them think at the same time.

Leave a Reply

