Word for the Year by Christine Duncan

http://www.amazon.com/Safe-House-Christine-Duncan/dp/1936127008/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1257712524&sr=8-2 Like Michelle, I’m giving up on doing any resolutions. Goals yes, one of my goals is to get a new job this year. It’s not a resolution because the job I have is about to end–the construction company I’m working for has almost completed the project and there will be no more job soon. So it is a goal to find something new.
So no resolutions. But I do believe in new beginnings. I believe in goals. I believe in having a touchstone to reach for.
What I am trying to do is find a word for the year. I have been doing this for the past couple of years and found it oddly comforting in times of stressed. For instance, the word for one of the previous years was placed. I knew I was where I was supposed to be. And that was comforting to remember in a way I can’t explain when times got hard.
This year I’m still searching for a word. Endure? Sounds arduous and not what I’d like to year to be. Resolute? Hmm, too much discipline. But what I’m trying to say is that I’m hanging in there. I can do this. And that is too many words.
Anyway, I’m working on it. How about you? What is your word for this year?

Leave a Reply

