Tis also the season for reading

. I have to admit, I don’t get much writing done this time of year. Not only is there the usual housework, and day job (and broken limbs) but there’s also Christmas shopping, writing Christmas cards, office parties, trips to The Nutcracker, friends and family get-togethers – by New Year’s Day I’m exhausted, and have had barely a moment to write.

But I do read a lot. I manage to slip in books in between all the travelling and wrapping. I buy myself (and get given) books I’ve wanted to read for ages, or even better, books I’ve never heard of, but end up loving.

Reading is an important part of writing, for me. Reading gives me ideas, shows me new styles, sets me a good example and inspires to me write, and try all sorts of new tricks and styles and ideas.

So not so much not writing, as preparing to write. Well, that’s my excuse anyway.

Leave a Reply

