Being Thankful by Christine Duncan

http://www.amazon.com/Safe-House-Christine-Duncan/dp/1936127008/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1257712524&sr=8-2 To tell the truth folks, this isn’t a blog I wanted to write this year. I have had years where I spent the entire month of November finding one thing each day to be thankful for. This year–eh! Money is short; the checks are late; my bills are not. I’ve had a cold which interfered with my running but not with my endless list of chores, and two sons pepper sprayed in the face at Occupy Denver–one of them hauled into jail.
If I whined anymore, I couldn’t stand myself.
I am the only American on this blog and it’s Thanksgiving. So I need to stop carping and tell you what I am grateful for.
I am grateful for the internet, which can bring me the other two writers on this blog as well as the community of other writers across the nation and the world. Thank you all of you for the perspective you give me.
I am grateful for Twitter and Facebook which is something I never would have believed a while back. But news there seems much more fresh and open and unedited.
I am grateful for the Occupy movement and their guts.
I am grateful for friends and family–a wonderful husband, sons I am very proud of, a gorgeous daughter and a wonderful extended family. I am grateful I live in a beautiful state, that I can run, that I can write.
And I’m grateful for Thanksgiving. For making me stop whining and making me remember all that I have to be grateful for.

One response to “Being Thankful by Christine Duncan

  1. I do like the idea of Thanksgiving, a day to be thankful (and eat turkey!). Though personally, I’d prefer to be thankful in summer! But we are thankful for you too. Happy Thanksgiving
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

