Perfectionism the Enemy of Writing??? by Christine Duncan

http://www.amazon.com/Safe-House-Christine-Duncan/dp/1936127008/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1257712524&sr=8-2I know a lot of writers are perfectionists. We strive for just the right word or phrase. We want to make it memorable, touch hearts, make people think. Sometimes we forget that the goal of writing is communication.

I know even with this blog, I sometimes think, I don’t have the time to do the post I want to do. Maybe I should just let it go this week. I have been planning the post, and composing it in my head, maybe even writing a draft or two, but it just doesn’t sing the way I want it to.

For all of you who sometimes feel that way, I want to remind you of a quote from Voltaire. “The perfect is the enemy of the good.” Think about it. Have you sometimes let your obsession with getting it just right, get in the way of communicating at all?

One response to “Perfectionism the Enemy of Writing??? by Christine Duncan

  1. .Sometimes goals just happen — but most of the time there is lots of planning and work.involved!

Leave a Reply

