Harder work than I thought

.

Right, as I said last week, writing a commissioned piece of work is a lot harder than I thought it would be. Whenever I dreamed of being a writer, I never imagined just what hard work it actually is.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m enjoying it. It’s wonderful to do, I’m very proud to be asked to do it, and I’m grateful for the opportunity. Not to mention I am actually really loving the work.

But it is work.

I’m working to someone else deadlines, not my own – so I can’t just take a day off whenever I don’t feel like writing. I’ve had to re-learn grammar and punctuation, and learn to adapt my formatting. Several tricks of formatting I use I’ve had to drop, as they don’t translate well into printable form.

I like to write a whole book, then go back to re-write and re-plan to suit what I finally come up with. However, I have to submit chapter by chapter. This means I have to get used to getting it right chapter by chapter, and have at least a vague idea of which way the work is going.

I also have to restrict my re-writes. I’m sticking to two re-writes and I’m done. I have had to throw away my habit of endless re-writes and going back to the habit to change things.

And I still have to deal with the fact that I am still nervous about submitting my work, and now I have to deal with that nervousness every time I submit a chapter.

So don’t let anyone fool you – writing for money is damn hard work. But utterly, thoroughly, totally, amazingly enjoyable.

Leave a Reply

