The Written Word is Dead? by Christine Duncan

http://www.amazon.com/Safe-House-Christine-Duncan/dp/1936127008/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1257712524&sr=8-2 It happened to me again. Someone made a comment to me about my books and then told me how glad they were the books were available in paper as they absolutely hate e-books. Maybe, the reader said, if she were a kid, she would get a kindle. But she preferred the written word.

What is an e-book but the written word? Aren’t you reading written words right now? And why do people have to be so…snarky about it?
This in a week where I read (in e-form) that ebooks sales jumped 115% in January.

Frankly, although I freely admit to getting most of my news off the radio, I was immersed in written words this week to get news of Japan and Libya. They were words from Internet news outlets, and I was thrilled to death to be able to read them although I cried for the victims of the Tsunami.

Writing isn’t dead. We still have a need. The written word is not dead. And change is not all bad. C’mon people.

4 responses to “The Written Word is Dead? by Christine Duncan

  1. Carmen Brown

    Maybe due to my age, I still prefer a hand held book. It’s a feel of accomplishment after the last page read. A kindle is nice for convenience and quickness of acquiring the next fix. Like you, I get my news from the computer now, but would prefer a newspaper in hand over a cup of coffe. Also like you, I cry with every article, TV coverage and talk of the sadness in Japan.

  2. Carmen Brown

    P.S. If it is read, it is all the written word. The radio, not so much.

  3. I think that people are confusing e-books with regular books when they say they prefer the written word. I think that most people mean that they enjoy the printed hard copy as opposed to the printed digital copy.

    I personally have nothing against e-books. My only think is against the actual reader itself. I have hand issues that prevent me from not only comfortably holding anything like a e-reader but from using it as well, which is why I’ll probably never buy one. As for downloading to my computer, well I spend enough time reading and writing on my computer anyways (about 12 hours a day split between work and home), so I don’t want to spend extra time reading a book on a computer, especially since my reading habits are radically different between a book and a computer.

  4. I 100% agree, though you might be preaching to the choir. Somehow the place where the words are written is supposed to make so much difference. Personally, I like being able to check words I don’t know, carry 15 books at once and never lose my place. Old books can smell nice but as an asmatic, give me pixels anytime 🙂

Leave a Reply

