A Valentine to Writers by Christine Duncan

http://www.amazon.com/Safe-House-Christine-Duncan/dp/1936127008/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1257712524&sr=8-2 In my search for something to write about for this post today, I went around the internet checking for writing related tips. I found everything from 52 tips to improve your blog to quotes for writers
Although I admit to liking a heck of a lot of the quotes (
“Don’t get it right, just get it written.” James Thurber (1894-1961) Author) I didn’t find anything I couldn’t live without today.

Which started me on a somewhat twisted but semi-logical thought. Isn’t that why we write? Because there is something we want to share enough, something that is big enough, something, I don’t know personal enough and enlightening enough, we hope someone will think, “Yeah, I’m glad I read that. That’s so true. I’m going to tell everyone I know about that (book, article, blogpost.)”

Anyway, follow this twisted thought down the line with me; I realized today that writers have guts. Cause, you know, you have to be willing to say things that are hard–intense, sometimes painful. You have to be pretty gutsy to share things that personal.

It’s like that crazy lady that you know, and secretly love, who says all the nastiest possible things at exactly the right time–the time when you’re thinking them yourself but don’t dare say them. You know that lady. She works in your office or lives down the street somewhere. You love to watch her go on a tear, as long as it’s not at you. Because you know what she says is true, don’t you?

That is what good writing does. It brings out that truth. It makes you laugh and cry and sit and think.

Writers do that. Writers write stuff people know but think is really too ugly, too sad, too, I don’t know–dumb to say.

Pretty lofty thoughts to get from a failed internet search. But a good thought for Valentine’s day. Writers rock their world. Now go out and write!

One response to “A Valentine to Writers by Christine Duncan

  1. Yes ma’am I will get out and write. You have inspired me 🙂

Leave a Reply

