What is Your Word for the Year? by Christine Duncan

http://www.amazon.com/Safe-House-Christine-Duncan/dp/1936127008/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1257712524&sr=8-2 I’m writing this on New Year’s day but I’m aware that you won’t read it until the 3rd. Still maybe you haven’t quite settled into the year ahead yet.

A Christian radio station has been talking about having one word to define the year. The idea is that the word is maybe not so much what you hope will happen, as with resolutions, but the word should keep you focused and perhaps give you comfort, if that is what you need. The word you pick should reflect all aspects of your life from the spiritual to the mundane.

The word then should define and help shape the year.

Since we writers use words as our tools, this should be an easy one, right? For instance, my word for last year was placed. I was where I was supposed to be. I wasn’t always comfortable there, didn’t always want to be where ever I was, but it was obvious throughout the year that I was put where I was for a reason. And that was a comfort throughout the less than comfortable times.

This year, I haven’t quite settled on a word. The reason is that I would like the word to be something other than what I believe it to be, if that makes any sense. I would like the word to be something like REST. I’d like some rest. Or Still. Oh yeah, I’d like to be still for a bit. A year of rest would probably bore me to death though. So I’m thinking the word is probably mindful. As in, I need to be mindful of where I am. I need to be in the moment. Be where I am.

For instance, right now as I write this, my mind is on the next thing I need to do, the next place I need to go. But I’m missing out on stuff that way, not doing quite the job I’d like to do, and maybe just a little balky about spending time on things I need to get done. I measure out time like a strict dieter measures out sugar for coffee.

I need to just focus on writing this blog right now. Making it the best blog I can write, concentrating on the satisfaction of writing exactly what I meant to say.

How about you? What is your word this year? And no fair just telling the word. Tell us why.

2 responses to “What is Your Word for the Year? by Christine Duncan

  1. I think that my word for the year is “do”.

    I am such a serious procrastinator of things that I often give up on doing certain things long before I get around to doing them.

    So this year, I will make myself simply “do” the things I detest doing as a writer, in order to do the things I want to accomplish as a writer.

  2. Achievement! As in, this year, I want to achieve so many things I’ve wanted to do achieve in the past, but have been denied due to lack of nerve, lack or opportunity, lack of knowledge, or just through sheer laziness.

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

