Time for Promotion by Christine Duncan

http://www.amazon.com/Safe-House-Christine-Duncan/dp/1936127008/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1257712524&sr=8-2This week, one of my publishers had a company wide discussion on e-books and POD. Changes in the publishing industry were making the publisher rethink how she was doing things and she wanted a feel for how her authors felt about it. In the course of things, I found two other authors from that company who live in my state, and I started thinking we should do promo together. After all, who likes to do book signings alone? All right some of you probably do, but I hate to do book signings alone. It makes me feel like I’m one of those folks at the front of the grocery store trying to sell you a subscription to the local paper. You know, those folks you zigzag a wide path around, as you go in the store, hoping they won’t notice you?

Anyway, after that, I went into the local Barnes and Noble searching for a gift for my husband’s birthday and noticed someone at a booth there demonstrating a Nook. And again, I had this neat idea that maybe I should contact the CRM at Denver West and tell her she was missing an opportunity to have local authors display their books on the Nook, and talk to the customers. Wouldn’t cost her a thing–so no wages for a sales person, and authors would sign up by the dozens. And yes, by the way, I wanted to be the first to sign up. And by the way, my publisher has two other authors who would sign up for a weekend day with me.

You see, I have ideas for promo. What I don’t have is time. And yet, I ran for over three hours today folks (Over 19 miles. The idea of a marathon still sucks.) I took a (short) nap. I got in a couple of trips to the grocery store and the library.

I just need one more day to the week. Just one.

Leave a Reply

