Deadlines by Karen Fainges

Everyone has a different style and that is good because otherwise the world would be boring. For me though, I need a deadline. I just don’t seem to be able to get things done without it. some are imposed by the job, but for writing, they have to be self-imposed. Little chunks work best for me. Breaking up the writing into sections. So I say, I will write 200 words and take a lolly. Or 1000 and have something really good. This has the rewards I wrote about last week built in, but they also give me a focus. I have to get it done before I can move on to the next thing.

Works for me.

What works best for you?

Trying out a range of techniques until you find the one that clicks is the only real way to go. Don’t think that because your hero writes in a particular way, that it is the only way, or the way that will work for you. There is nothing right or wrong in these techniques, just what works best for you.

4 responses to “Deadlines by Karen Fainges

  1. I try to write at least 1500-2000 words on the weekend. I know it doesn’t sound like a lot, but I do all by hand.

    My reward for being able to meet my quota is spend the weekend acting like a normal person, instead of the neanderthal I usually become whenever I don’t meet my quota.

  2. Hey, so long as it keeps it moving, it sounds like a great plan to me.

  3. Virtual Sinner

    Deadlines = dead prose. Gotta have time to let the ideas simmer.

  4. Letting an idea evolve is important.

    How, and when you do that, is a matter of personal preference. Still nothing wrong with the old notebook of ideas you can revisit after a suitable time. Or just letting the old hindbrain work them over. It is amazing what it can come up with really.

Leave a Reply

