A Place to Write

Sometimes you really need a place to write. Somewhere you can go and really work. For me, it is not so much a physical place, but a feeling. I have a cup of something at my side, music playing and a blank sheet of paper. Empty the cup and fill the sheet. Sound easy doesn’t it šŸ™‚

I was thinking about this the other day and realised there was one thing I had forgotten. Smells. Smell can be one of the greatest aides to memory and it can help in a lot of other ways too. Ā Check out this blog post on the smell of crayons helping one writer realise her creativity by taking her back to the days of childhood. http://carrieanddanielle.com/the-smell-of-crayons-tapping-into-your-creative-freedom/. Ā There are also other blogs and posts that prompt you to sniff different smells to awaken different memories and emotions.

For me, it is a slightly musty smell of my old caravan. Living in a small house has its trials and my mother bought me an old caravan shell to turn into my own room. This was my own place and I could dream, write, listen to music, anything I liked in there. It was my shelter from the storm of teenage years. So now I have bought myself an old site office in the hopes it will give me that same freedom. I will keep you posted if it works.

One response to “A Place to Write

  1. I think for me, the good writing trigger is sound. I can get a lot done, simply by listening. Whether its in the great outdoors, music on the radio or people talking, sound is the ultimate memory trigger for me.

Leave a Reply

