Other writers.

. Have you noticed? Writers are everywhere.

Lately, I’ve noticed, everywhere I go, there’s a writer in the room. This started when I went on a particularly boring and pointless training course. It seemed like such a waste of time. Then we paired off for an exercise. The conversation veered off to what we rather be doing – and we discovered what we’d both rather be doing is writing.

Since then I’ve met poets at a open mike night, writers at work, writers on the bus – writers everywhere.

When two or more writers get together, the conversation always start the same way. The first question is:

‘What do you write?’

The second is always

‘Are you published yet?’

And then the conversation really gets going. We swap tips on manuscripts, publishers, writing courses, websites – every writing subject under the sun.

Yep, as it turns out, writers are everywhee. And other writers are the best resource writers can have.

One response to “Other writers.

  1. A great example of this: I had a colonoscopy this week. While the nurse was prepping me for the procedure, she asked me what I did. When I said I was a writer, a voice came through the curtain separating the cubicle I was in from the one next to it.

    “I”m a writer, too. What do you write?”

Leave a Reply

