Lessons Running Taught Me by Christine Duncan

http://www.amazon.com/Safe-House-Christine-Duncan/dp/1936127008/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1257712524&sr=8-2 It doesn’t take much for a writer to get jazzed. For instance, I am in a good mood today because my local library has gotten in all the copies of my book that it ordered and they are all checked out.

It’s not Best Seller-dom, but I’ll take it.

On the other hand, it is easy to be discouraged as a writer too. I can read on my local writer’s listserve all the other pubbed authors’ signing plans and their successes and awards and think how envious I am.

But running has taught me a little bit of wisdom that I hadn’t gotten any other way. You see, I am…not a fast runner. I don’t race so this only matters when I’m running with someone else–like my daughter. Generally speaking, since she wants to run with me, she runs at my pace. Still when other runners zoom around us, I see her looking. She’s the competitive type and she wants to go faster. She is almost gleeful when she sees us coming up quickly on what was a former zooming runner. You see, I might plod but I can go for miles. And running has taught me that this is not a bad trait.

Writing is like that too. You might not be a child prodigy. Your first book may not have sold out all its copies. But take heart. We plodders eventually get there.

The trick with the whole deal is, I think, to notice your progress. If this year, you’re doing more or better than you were last year, then you’re doing okay. Life is good. If you’re not, then keep plodding. You’ll get where you’re going–eventually! And you’ll be glad you didn’t stop.

Oh, and about organizing this blog–I’m trying to take the long view on that one too.

2 responses to “Lessons Running Taught Me by Christine Duncan

  1. I love this blog! Very true. Is your book ISBN straightened out?

  2. Running inspires me too! I run alone, on a treadmill, but every time I beat my previous time, I feel on top of the world, and that just makes me want to write.

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

