A Little Experiment

. I’ve been experimenting a bit this week.

First of all, I tried a sort of ‘stream of consciousness’ type experiment. Instead of trying to come up with a first line, I came up with an image. I wrote down a single word to describe that image. Then I wrote down another word, somehow linked to the first, and another and another, until I had a long list of words – and based a story around that. It was quite interesting. I came up with a nicely flowing story, and a nice twist at the end, but I kept the creativity I usually lose when I plan a story. I think I’ll try that again.

Secondly, I’ve been experimenting with different ways of writing – a computer, versus a fountain pen and paper. I found the computer one quite difficult to carry on with – my attention tended to wander. I’ve only written a few lines of it. The hand written one flowed a lot faster.

Also, the method of writing seemed to affect the actual story. When I started the computer written one, I fully intended to write a Victorian ghost story. But when it got going, the time moved to the 20’s, and everything is bright and modern. The hand-written one, though, was supposed to be a modern story – but as the pen flowed across the page, it became Victorian. How I write, what tools I use, seem to affect the actual story itself. Wander what I’d come up with if I used a quill pen dipped in ink? I might try that one next.

4 responses to “A Little Experiment

  1. Oh I love these types of experiments. I hope you do try the quill pen…I have a feeling you’d come up with something amazing. Keep me posted.

  2. I can sympathize.

    Sometimes when I write with pen and paper, the words seem to flow more naturally, than when I use my laptop.

    Now the adventure will be writing original stuff with voice recognition software.

    I think using the formula “brain to fingers to laptop/paper” is a lot easier than “brain to mouth to laptop”.

    In any event, keep us posted on what seems to work best for you.

  3. Thanks so much for sharing this experiment! It’s so hard to keep ideas flowing and even ideas of how to find ideas is hard.
    These kind of posts are what I really value about reading writers’ blogs.
    Let us know how the quill goes!

  4. Sounds like a fun and productive experiment. Alas, no matter how much I try to write with other tools, I always find myself back at the computer. Good luck with further experimentation.

Leave a Reply

