Wicked

I can’t believe how much I’m loving my manuscript right now.   My editing remains consistent so I’m steadily working my way through the book – I’m in the last quarter. 

Before I began editing, I had this mental image of my manuscript as being almost salvageable.  I now realise that not only was that my procrastination talking, I was completely wrong.

The upside of my procrastination (I can only see an upside now that i’ve overcome it…..) is that I’d rested the MS for so long I’d forgotten a lot of the detail.   So this morning as i tapped away on the train, i actually burst out laughing.  That’s gotta be a good thing huh?

I guess what i’m trying to say is….my best tip for overcoming writers block is to schedule writing into your day.  Pick a time that suits you and work at that time – for a designated period.  Then put your work away and come back the next day and chip away a bit more.  It’s amazing how much those little sessions add up.

I’ve fallen back in love with writing.  It’s wicked!

2 responses to “Wicked

  1. Good advice.

    I’ve been doing a little bit of that. For now, my chipping away has been mostly confined to the weekends, with stuff like editing and what not confined to the evening hours.

    But even with just doing the editing, I’m still getting ideas on how to get by a few sticking points at where I’m currently at, so when the time does come to write, I’ll have a good idea on how to get to where I want to be.

  2. It’s funny isn’t it? I used to think of editing as being the less creative part of the writing process (and in some ways it is). However, I still have to tap into my creativity to edit so other ideas start popping through as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

