The Scots got it right…

.Do you know that quote of Robert Burns? ‘The best laid plans of mice and men gang aft aglay’ (often go astray, for those of you that don’t speak broad Scots). Sometimes I feel like that all the time. Last week I told you how a virus laid me low just as I was ready to get actively sending work out. Once I’d recovered from that, I twisted my ankle badly, making it highly painful to walk to the post office, or queue for the 40 minutes it generally takes to get to the counter. Once I did get there, they’d run out of the envelopes I needed. Also, my brand new ink cartridge ran out amazing quickly – no printing out for me. Once I was recovered, and had a new cartridge, it was time to go to work, and I didn’t have time to go to the Post Office.

All very frustrating. Sometimes it feels like the universe is ganging up on me, trying to stop me following my dreams of a writing career. But I’m not one to give up that easily. I just think of another great Scotsman, Robert the Bruce, and his spider (the one that tried six times to throw a line, and on the seventh succeeded – therefore, try, try and try again.) .

Leave a Reply

