What’s a Writer? by Linda M. Faulkner

linda-m-faulknerOur guest this week at Rule of Three is Linda M. Faulkner  who is  a novelist (check out her book, Second Time Around,)  and the author of the newspaper column, “Business Sense.” She’s also a member of MWA, RWA, SinC, EPIC, Rocky Mountain Chapter of MWA, Montana Chapter of RWA, past-present of RWA’s New England Chapter from 1990-1994.  So the woman knows a bit about writers! Here’s what she has to say

 

Here’s a question for you:  What’s the definition of writer?

            According to Webster, it’s:  one that writes.  Personally, I’d say one WHO writes  But hey, I wasn’t hired to write the dictionary and Webster was, so who am I to talk?

            Which sums up, quite nicely, what I’d like to say.  So, why did I put it at the beginning, you ask.

Because.

Because that’s the way I write.  Because I’m a writer and I get to write what I want to write.

First Amendment—remember that?

            A lot of talk goes on in the world of writers:  within writing organizations, within publishing houses, between the members of writer’s organization and the employees of publishing houses.  Between writers, too.  What amazes me is that so much intolerance exists.

            I attended a critique group once and Writer A refused to listen to Writer B read an excerpt from her erotic romance novel because Writer A embraces a certain religion, doesn’t read erotica, and finds it offensive.  I’ve also heard a published writer say that she won’t attend a critique group with unpublished writers in attendance because the unpubbed don’t have any experience and she doesn’t trust her work with them. 

            HELLO!  If we’re all writers, we’re doing the same thing:  we write.  We sit in front of our laptops (or word processors or legal pads), we holler at our imaginations to come up with stuff no one has come up with before, we string words together—hoping that our arrangements of the little buggers will rip emotion from the hearts of our readers and motivate them to buy more of our stuff.

Does the writer of science fiction novels work any less diligently than the writer of historical romance?  Does an unpublished writer have a less effective inner-editor than a published writer does?  If your book is published by an ePub, does that automatically make it less well crafted than if it’s published by Doubleday?

I’m sure there are people who will answer Yes! to all three of my questions.  I wish there were more of us who will answer No!

I am a proponent of writers sticking together and supporting each other.  Every published writer was once unpublished and lacking in experience.  Very few of us were born with the innate understanding of grammar, punctuation, spelling, noun-verb agreement, developing a voice, creating sympathetic characters and exciting plots, etc.  We all had to learn these things.  Where’s our compassion and tolerance?

If I embrace my own First Amendment rights as a writer, then I sure as heck am not going to infringe upon someone else’s First Amendment rights.  The more writers we have, the more stuff we readers have at our fingertips.  Your success doesn’t threaten mine:  it inspires me to work harder; it proves to me that my success isn’t out of reach.

I’m a writer.  I write.  What do you do?

3 responses to “What’s a Writer? by Linda M. Faulkner

  1. You are so right (or maybe write 🙂

    A true writer should look for inspiration from anywhere and everywhere. Our characters can not afford to be one dimensional, and neither can we.

    If we refuse to listen to others, we may never have the bright, wonderful moment when the perfect scene pops into our heads.

  2. Nice article, good points!

  3. I write, I blog and I have fun doing it. I also take advice when I ask, and give it when it’s asked of me.

Leave a Reply

